Developing the Accountancy Profession

Syllabus & Competencies Matrix for a Three-level Qualification

A Project Under the IFAC Accountancy Capacity Building Program

Feb 24, 2021 | Guidance & Support Tools

This syllabus and competency matrix for a three-level qualification for professional accountants was developed by the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales under the IFAC Professional Accountancy Organization Capacity Building Program funded by the UK Aid from the UK Government. The original Russian version is also available.

The syllabus helps prepare well-rounded advisors who:

  • contribute real value in management of all types of organizations;
  • act in the public interest as well as that of their employer or client;
  • meeting the requirements of IESs that are effective as of January 2021 and incorporating international accounting and auditing standards;
  • deliver and demonstrate competencies that include the sound knowledge and higher-value technical skills expected of future accountancy and finance professionals; and
  • deliver their technical knowledge and skills in a practical and relevant way.

The main features of the syllabus include:

  • A three-tier syllabus and examination structure that  supports developing competent professional accountants at the foundation, intermediate and advanced levels.
  • Benchmarking with international qualifications to facilitate a degree of mutual recognition with other professional qualifications.
  • A skills matrix showing what skills are developed as students progress and a detailed syllabus identifying subjects aligned to students’ abilities upon completion.
  • Extensive references to ethical aspects of practicing accountancy. 

Copyright © 2023 The International Federation of Accountants (IFAC). All rights reserved.


Related Resources


Get the latest updates delivered to your inbox

Subscribe now



View Boards Site


Translations & Permissions

Looking to reproduce the standards for your members? Want to include IFAC's publications in your training materials or university course? Learn how we can help.

IP permissions and policies

Primary tabs

Thank you for your interest in our publications. These valuable works are the product of substantial time, effort and resources, which you acknowledge by accepting the following terms of use. You may not reproduce, store, transmit in any form or by any means, with the exception of non-commercial use (e.g., professional and personal reference and research work), translate, modify or create derivative works or adaptations based on such publications, or any part thereof, without the prior written permission of IFAC.

Our reproduction and translation policies, as well as our online permission request and inquiry system, are accessible on the Permissions Information web page.

For additional information, please read our website Terms of Use. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.