Skip to main content

Who We Are

Professional Accountants in Business Advisory Group

Professional accountants in business comprise a significant part of the profession working in commerce, industry, financial services, education, and the public and not-for-profit sectors. The Professional Accountants in Business (PAIB) Advisory Group focuses on ensuring these accountants meet the future needs of business and the public sector.

Formed in 1977, the PAIB Advisory Group is comprised of volunteers with experience and expertise in the world of business and the public sector, nominated by the professional accountancy organizations that make up IFAC’s membership.

Comprised of professional accountants with extensive and diverse experiences, the Advisory Group considers key global trends in the context of the issues facing chief financial officers and finance functions, as well as boards and their audit committees.

The Advisory Group provides IFAC with:

  • Strategic input on business and accountancy issues that need to be addressed, and how to best do so;
  • Direct input into IFAC and relevant standard-setting initiatives, projects, and activities, thereby ensuring inclusion of perspectives and issues most relevant to professional accountants in business; and
  • Outreach and stakeholder engagement across the global profession.

Thought leadership and global perspectives on topics focused on professional accountants in business are in the Knowledge Gateway

Key Contacts
  • Stathis Gould, Director, Member Engagement and PAIB 
  • Laura Leka, Principal


Sanjay Rughani, Chair Uganda
Nancy Sau Ling Tse, JP, Deputy Chair Hong Kong, Special Administrative Region of China
Zia-Ul-Mustafa Awan Pakistan
Gregory Bedard United States of America
Anastasija Boljević Montenegro
Esther Bosch Netherlands
Ibrahim (Murat) Çağlar Turkey
Maria del Dado Alonso Sanchez Spain
Sharon Ditchburn Australia
Mike Driver United Kingdom
Eric Freudenreich France
Lindawati Gani Indonesia
Tim Herrod, FCPA, FCA Canada
Nihar Jambusaria India
Margaret Muinde Kenya
Stephen L. Muscat Malta
Esteban Quiros Costa Rica
Milton Segal South Africa
Muhammad Samiullah Siddiqui Pakistan
Ichiro Waki Japan
Gloria Zvaravanhu Zimbabwe